Snainton - Station Masters and Staff

There were only ever two stationmasters at Snainton throughout its 68-year history.

  • 1882 - 1922
    Mr Benjamin Fieldsend (Station Master)
  • 1882
    Mr J.B. Harper
    Mr R. Brough
  • 1922 - 1950
    Mr R. H. Tindall (Station Master)
  • 20th July 1923
    Mr A. Hunter (Porter/Signalman)
  • 27th February 1930, 1941
    Mr Ernie Megson (Porter/Signalman)
  • 1939, 1941
    Mr Bernard H. Artley (Porter/Signalman)

It is now believed that R.H. Tindall may not have been station master at Snainton as late as 1950, as it has been said that the station master at Forge Valley was also in charge of Snainton, Sawdon and Wykeham in later LNER times and the BR period.